Dr Mo Abedi re-elected as Chair of NHS Enfield Clinical Commissioning Group

NHS Enfield Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) is pleased to announce the re-appointment of Dr Mo Abedi as Chair for a three year term of office, following recent elections to the Governing Body.

Helen Pettersen, Accountable Officer, North Central London (NCL) CCGs and Convenor of the NCL Sustainability and Transformation Plan (STP) said:

“I am delighted to confirm Dr Mo Abedi’s re-election to the Governing Body and his re-appointment as Chair of Enfield CCG.  Dr Abedi brings a wealth of experience to the role and has already made a considerable contribution to improving local health services during his first term of office. He is a well-known and well respected local GP with a deep understanding of healthcare locally which will be valuable as the CCGs in North Central London continue to work closely together over the next few years.”

Dr Abedi said: “It is a real honour to have been re-elected to the Governing Body and to be voted in again as Chair and I welcome the opportunity to lead the CCG in our next stage of development. I am very excited about the challenges ahead and committed to achieving our aims to improve the health of our local population.”

Dr Abedi has been Chair of the Governing Body since September 2014 and he was previously Medical Director of Enfield CCG.  He has been a GP in the borough of Enfield for many years and is currently a GP at East Enfield Medical Practice and Brick Lane Surgery. Dr Abedi is an experienced GP leader, having worked as a Clinical Director for Enfield Primary Care Trust and also held the position of Professional Executive Committee (PEC) Chair. He was also the lead for the CCG’s Primary Care Strategy programme, which implemented a wide range of improvements to health care services available at GP practices and pharmacies. Dr Abedi is passionate about improving health services and reducing health inequalities in Enfield.

Enfield CCG also has three new GPs on the Governing Body following recent elections:

  • North West Locality – Dr Johan Byran (three year term of office)
  • South West Locality – Dr Elizabeth Babatunde (three year term of office)
  • North East Locality – Dr Rebecca Olowookere (four year term of office)

A full list of Governing Body members can be found on the following webpage: http://www.enfieldccg.nhs.uk/about-us/ccg-board-members.htm